What is a Diamond Certification?

Diamonds are natural stones, and each diamond comes with unique internal and external characteristics. In addition to its size and colour, birthmarks inside the diamond also determine its features. The value of a diamond is based on the combination of these qualities.

The four essential characteristics used to classify a diamond are the "4Cs of diamond": Colour, Clarity, Cut and Carat. These characteristics are evaluated by diamond professionals and often documented in detail. This document is called a grading report or diamond certificate. Diamond certificates are important as they show the diamond's quality and value in your jewellery.

Design Your Product

GL Certified Diamonds

All GL diamonds are carefully selected from fully credible diamond suppliers in the participant countries of the Kimberley Process. GL certified diamonds are in H Colour, VS clarity and very good cut. GLAMIRA provides both GIA and GL certified diamonds.

Design Your Product

The 4Cs of Diamond


The unit of weight for measuring a diamond is carat (ct). One carat is one-fifth of a gram (0.2 g), and for diamonds, it weighs 100 points.

Diamond Cut

Diamonds in this range are at the top of the grade and are very rare; due to the perfect interaction of their facets and light. These diamonds reflect the light best and sparkle intensely among all the diamond categories.

Diamond Cut Signature

Diamonds in this range are considered to have the highest cut grade. The interaction of their facets shows a good balance and delivers fire and brightness.

Diamond Cut Ideal

Diamonds in this range produce slight fire and sparkle compared to the ideal cut diamonds and deliver subtle darkness.

Diamond Cut Very Good

Diamonds in this range reflect limited light and brilliance.

Diamond Cut Good

Diamond Stone Clarity

This clarity scale is considered from flawless to internally flawless. These diamonds do not include any inclusions. Internally flawless diamonds may only contain faint external blemishes, removable by repolishing. Flawless and internally flawless diamonds are rare.

Diamond Clarity FL - IF

Diamonds with this clarity may contain very slight inclusions that are extremely hard to detect under a 10X magnification mirror and not noticeable with the naked eye.

Diamond Clarity VVS1 - VVS2

Diamonds with this clarity contain minor inclusions that can be seen under a 10X magnification mirror and are not noticeable with the naked eye.

Diamond Clarity VS1 - VS2

Diamonds in this clarity group include slight inclusions that can be detected under 10X magnification mirror.

Diamond Clarity SI1 - SI2

Diamonds with this clarity contain slight inclusions that are noticeable under graded 10X magnification and visible to the naked eye under close examination.

Diamond Clarity I1

Diamonds with this clarity contain noticeable inclusions that may affect their brilliance. Inclusions on these diamonds are visible to the naked eyes.

Diamond Clarity I2 - I3

Diamond Colour

D diamonds are the finest. They are white and colourless; they have the rarest colour grades and the highest value.

Diamond Colour D

E diamonds have the second-highest colour grade on the “colourless” scale. They have a characteristic rare white colour and are exceptionally fine.

Diamond Colour E

F diamonds are on the last grade of “colourless” scale and considered as rare and fine white diamonds.

Diamond Colour F

G diamonds are first on the “near colourless” scale. They contain slight traces of white colour and are very valuable.

Diamond Colour G

H diamonds are on the “near colourless” scale and slightly coloured. The colour of the H diamonds can only be detected when compared with other colourless diamonds.

Diamond Colour H

I diamonds are slightly tinted and considered as “near colourless”. The slight colour on the I diamonds may be detected.

Diamond Colour I

J diamonds are considered last on the “near colourless” grade scale. The slight white colour of J diamonds can be detected.

Diamond Colour J

K-Z grade diamonds are slightly coloured or coloured, from light yellow to darker yellow.

Diamond Colour KZ

GIA Certified Diamonds

Many local and international diamond grading institutes provide diamond certificates such as GIA, HRD, IGI, AGS, etc. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA), a nonprofit institute in gemology, is the most widely known and respected diamond grading institute in the world. GLAMIRA gives you a choice of ordering your product with a GIA certified diamond, where you can customise the colour, clarity and cut of the diamond to be used on your setting.

Design Your Product